Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Myers Depot Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Metal Detecting > Research and Getting Permission

Reply
  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2022, 01:36 PM
Gauntlet's Avatar
Gauntlet Gauntlet is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South of Graceland
Posts: 4,072
Default What happened to Google Earth Pro?

My last laptop I used Google Earth Pro and could do map overlays. Newer laptop (windows 10) has Google Earth, doesn't have any way to do overlay.

Tried downloading Pro, doesn't open.

Why?

Please, dumb-down the explanation

__________________
Tesoro: Vaquero, DeLeon, Cibola with GB mod, and Compadre (with coil swap and 3-D mods).
Fisher: 1265X
Before buying a Nokta Makro look at my thread:
https://metaldetectingforum.com/showthread.php?t=295281

Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-08-2022, 03:14 PM
Leave-No-Coins-Behind's Avatar
Leave-No-Coins-Behind Leave-No-Coins-Behind is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Keystone State
Posts: 7,351
Default

All I can say is I'm able to open Pro.

__________________
Equinox 800

Oldest coin: 1760 Colonial Half Penny; Oldest US coin: 1787 NJ Copper; Oldest US silver coin: 1811/09 Capped Bust Dime; 2020 FTY Clad: $1,635.36; 2021 FTY Clad: $1,496.91. Most coin amounts found on one single various of days: Quarters-165; Dimes-103 (2Xs); Nickels-53. 2022 FTY Silvers: 23

Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 03-08-2022, 04:28 PM
Gauntlet's Avatar
Gauntlet Gauntlet is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South of Graceland
Posts: 4,072
Default

Originally Posted by JAK View post
All I can say is I'm able to open Pro.
I do good to tie my shoes most days

Thanks though!

I finally got it going. Had to download and reinstall 3-4 times before it would work.

I've always openly admitted being technology "challenged".

Is a big reason I use Tesoros

__________________
Tesoro: Vaquero, DeLeon, Cibola with GB mod, and Compadre (with coil swap and 3-D mods).
Fisher: 1265X
Before buying a Nokta Makro look at my thread:
https://metaldetectingforum.com/showthread.php?t=295281

Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #4  
Old 03-08-2022, 04:26 PM
Detector's Avatar
Detector Detector is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dodge City KS
Posts: 11,322
Default

Originally Posted by Gauntlet View post
My last laptop I used Google Earth Pro and could do map overlays. Newer laptop (windows 10) has Google Earth, doesn't have any way to do overlay.

Tried downloading Pro, doesn't open.

Why?

Please, dumb-down the explanation
It is in ADD
Attached Images
 

__________________
The real treasure is in the hunt....

Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #5  
Old 03-08-2022, 04:31 PM
Gauntlet's Avatar
Gauntlet Gauntlet is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South of Graceland
Posts: 4,072
Default

Originally Posted by Detector View post
It is in ADD

I never could get Pro to open. Could go to "Google Earth", but there was no overlay tool, it's in the Pro version.

Thanks!

__________________
Tesoro: Vaquero, DeLeon, Cibola with GB mod, and Compadre (with coil swap and 3-D mods).
Fisher: 1265X
Before buying a Nokta Makro look at my thread:
https://metaldetectingforum.com/showthread.php?t=295281

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-08-2022, 05:38 PM
Rock Jock's Avatar
Rock Jock Rock Jock is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Homeless in USA - Frequently in Charleston, SC
Posts: 430
Default

I am running Pro with earlier W 10 and now W 11 (upgrade). No problems. As Detector relates, I have "Add" in W 11 with the Overlay option available. My last real overlay was with W 10 because the W 11 was upgraded only recently so no occasion yet.

__________________
Working to end the national coin shortage one coin at a time.
Garrett AT Max, Garrett Z Lynk Propointer, Nokta Makro PulseDive w/ 8" loop & pinpointer tip

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-09-2022, 09:23 AM
Gauntlet's Avatar
Gauntlet Gauntlet is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South of Graceland
Posts: 4,072
Default

Originally Posted by Rock Jock View post
I am running Pro with earlier W 10 and now W 11 (upgrade). No problems. As Detector relates, I have "Add" in W 11 with the Overlay option available. My last real overlay was with W 10 because the W 11 was upgraded only recently so no occasion yet.
Actually there's an icon for overlays above the main screen. That's what I use, same result, just saves a click.

I know that makes me sound lazy

__________________
Tesoro: Vaquero, DeLeon, Cibola with GB mod, and Compadre (with coil swap and 3-D mods).
Fisher: 1265X
Before buying a Nokta Makro look at my thread:
https://metaldetectingforum.com/showthread.php?t=295281

Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.