Need advice

farmermark

Hello, I'm new here and know nothing about detecting. I would like some advice about detecting a bullet in a dead cow. I am a farmer and want to rule out this possibility with two dead cows I have had lately. It's below 0 here with lots of snow and a day or two going by before things are seen so a bullet lodged in a cow would not necessarily be bleeding or even noticeable until some infection occurs. This isn't simple. Advice please. Thank you. Mark

I posted it here too as I really need an answer soon.

Well, if you have a metal detector, and can get it to turn on and detect a piece of lead, like a fishing weight, by waving the lead piece near the bottom of the detector's coil, then you know what to listen for. Now, you rub the coil around the downed cow, listening for a similar sound. Then, I'm guessing, if you don't come across a good metal signal, here comes the hard part: detecting the other side of the cow. Most metal detectors will pick up a lead or lead&copper bullet within a few inches, to maybe about a foot(tops) from the coil. If your cows were shot, there's a good chance the bullet would be lodged under the hide, near the surface, but maybe on the underside, that's frozen to the ground. Of course, a bullet could be lodged deep within the body, where you wouldn't detect it without cutting apart the cow. That's search step 3. Then, of course, a bullet could have passed clean through. Thorough inspection might find entry/exit wounds.
Sorry to hear about your loss, and sure hope it isn't from intentional acts.

I would think any of the $100 detectors would find a bullet at 4 inches. The mid range ones 8 inches. I would think a cow would be easy to detect a bullet since the machine could be run wide open without interference from other metals.
There are clubs everywhere, if you do the facebook thing I bet there are detectorists nearby that would help you out.

I'd look for help, perhaps ringfinders.com