When Pinpointing, Where Is The Target Under An Oval Coil?

Nicholas West

Hello everybody !

I am new to this wonderful forum, and to the sport of metal detecting.

I'm using a Fisher F44 detector with an 11" oval coil.

My question is: when pinpointing, where is "X marks the spot" in regards to the coil? When you stop moving the coil on the strongest response, where under the coil is the target?

it's a large pointed oval, wider at the bottom than at the tip. Is the target under the center of the hole in the middle? At the top of the center hole? Under where the coil is attached to the pole? Under the tip of the coil? I've done a lot of pinpointing where the target ends up being quite a few inches away from the center of the coil even though I carefully marked where the response was strongest, thinking it was under the very center of the coil.

Fisher is uninformative about this to say the least. You'd think they'd make it very clear where the pinpoint target location will be under their oval coil.

Any thoughts on this would be very welcome! Regards - Nicholas

I'm not familiar with the F44, but this is from the manual. I use the technique listed under "pinpointing using motion modes" on my detector. If your coil is a DD, (like mine is) the wiggle and slide back technique is easy. Wiggle the coil over the target and slide back until the signal stops. The target will be right at the center tip of your coil.

(COPIED FROM THE MANUAL)

PINPOINT
Press and hold to activate. Search coil motion is not required; a motionless searchcoil over a metal target will induce sound.
Audio is V.C.O. The 2-digit number displayed indicates target depth, in inches. The scale is calibrated to coin-sized objects.After you have identified a target using a motion mode of detection, press snd hold the to identify the target’s exact location. This technique can yield more information about the target’s shape and size and also find its exact location to facilitate extraction.