Am I doing something wrong!

the dane

Ok today I had a day off work, I thought beautiful sunny day no rain in sight let's hit the beach! 10am I got my wife to drive me 8 kilometres up the beach and I'll walk home and collect as I go! (Had detector trowel and mini shovel) after 6hours I had found 3 sinkers a handful of cans and too big planks of metal really deep in the sand! Is there a good YouTube video on ground balancing I'm not sure if I'm getting that correct or not! I also did a few of the parks by the beach and the car parks, i was getting good sounds and numbers that should mean a $1 or $2 coin! My problem is people are watching me and I don't really want to rip the grass up! So i stop cutting fill the hole and walk on.
At the moment I am still using all metal as I'm only new to this still! I did see at least 10 other people with metal detectors, I should have asked one of them if I'm doing the ground balancing properly! My wife ring me 10 mins after she dropped me off and said, did I realise I had left my wallet on the dash of the car, and that she would come bring it to me if I wished? I said on the phone I'm guaranteed to find at least $5 or $6 for lunch or a drink! Haa how wrong was i? I did dig up an old shovel still with a handle intact! I carried it for around 1 hour and then I just left it in the sand dunes! Tomorrow after work I will hit our local baseball club and see if I can find anything, and try to to dig in the Grass with no one watching me! It's annoying because the first two times I used my detector I found money in the First 20 minutes both times, but I suppose that's part of the game! And any idea why there would be huge metal plates down the beach? I got really excited at one stage I thought it was guaranteed to be a ring or bracelet and it turned out to be around 8 inches deep a Woodstock bourbon can! Cheers guys as I said any help with the the balancing video would be good.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk