Explorer II or DFX or ???

cadawg

Hello to everyone,
Making the decision on which metal detector to buy is pretty hard. Wish I had a distributor close by, who has more than one or two different models.
I'm new to md'ing and have been lurking for a while to try and learn enough to make a decision on which metal detector to buy. I've gone to two smaller distributors, and looked at what they had. One distributor had a Whites Prizm and a XLT, and he convinced me the xlt was what i needed. Went to another distributor, who had a Whites M6 and an MXT, and this distributor convinced me that what I really needed was the MXT. At this point I decided to think some more.
It seems that each time I get closer to making a choice, I find that if I were to spend just a little bit more, a few hundred or so, I'd get some additional feature or benefits. So, finally I've decided to get one of the better ones. The Minelab Explorer II or Whites DFX.
I will try and give as many details as possible, so that anyone who can, will offer their advice.
This will be my first metal detector.
I am almost 50 years old, will be retiring in a few months, and will want to use the md to help me get some exercise, a few hours a day, 3-4 times a week.
I would like to search for coins, relics, jewellery, even some gold prospecting.
I would like to search rural areas (old home sites), parks, near rivers, and Beach's. Most of the areas I will be searching are in the southeast, GA, FL,TN, and a bit in CA and NV.
The two models I'm looking at (the EX II and the DFX) will, from what I've read will do what I'm expecting. But I really can't decide between the two.
Thanks in advance for any and all thoughts or suggestions that might help me.

cadawg