1777 USA Military Button

ktsamis

Was out trying my new DFX the past few days and found a few plain buttons and arrowhead. Also found this button today stamped 1777 USA with the rope around it. The shank in the back is intact and in pretty good condition. Anyone know any history on it? Haven't found too much on the internet. Can anyone refer me to a good web page? Both of these items were found at that old foundation at my parents home here in CT.

Thanks

Attachments

• DSC00509.jpg
    DSC00509.jpg
    52.1 KB · Views: 350
  • button.jpg
    button.jpg
    115.3 KB · Views: 359
wow incredible find Ktsamis , how deep and what did the vdi show you ?hey are you sure its a rope an not a snake biting its tail? treasure that one its worth alot , congrats my friend because thats what its all about

Thanks..I checked that RELICMAN.COM website and they only had Civil War buttons. I'm still very new with the DFX so I've been digging eveything. Literally I have bags of nails! I had given up on the VDI #'s since nails were even giving me the "good sound" to dig. The DFX was on the Coin/Jewelry Mode and just kept giving my the $1.00 Icon. I dug, couldn't find anything. Tried to PP it, lost the signal. Moved more rocks and this came rolling out between two rocks. I've posted some of the other odd pieces. I kept thinking "Please don't be another button!" I've dug quite a few plain, unmarked buttons and thought I was wasting my time. Any other website suggestions?

That button resembles the Continental Army button, however the lettering isn't quite right and they didn't have a year in them. At least not the ones I've found from the web. Is it cast button? If I'd have to guess I'd say it is newer than 1777..say a civilian button made to resemble the army button. What's the size of this button..somehow it looks awfully small.

Voriax

Someone just sent me some info on the Continental Army General Service Button: