Arm Numbness Anyone?

Mozhoven

Hello all,

I'm new to this hobby and have about 3 months in so far and approximately 60 hours of swinging time. Within the last 3 weeks or so, I've begun to experience numbness in my right arm. I've done some research and this happens to many people, but often it's a pinched nerve in the neck (due to sleeping in awkward positions). That being said, I find it more than coincidence that it's come about around the same time as my new hobby.

Anyway, I figured I would drop a line here and see if it has happened to anyone else. Thoughts?

My fingers do get numb if I am out for a long time, but I just change arms and just keep moving along. I think the forearm strap cuts of the blood flow a little LOL.

it sounds to me like a pinched nerve. bending, twisting, swinging, digging, doing the "happy dance(?)".... any one of which could have caused it.
it wouldn't hurt to get it checked out if it persists for any length of time. :yes:

my arm(s) tend to go the other way, they hurt instead of getting numb. ligament or muscle issues that weren't caused by detecting, but swinging sure aggravates it sometimes. :(

Pete

It sounds like you might not have you the length of the lower rod set right, of course I can't be sure without watching you swing but having your lower rod set too long can cause repetitive stress to the muscles and tendons in your arm. A lot of people do set their rod length too long as doing so will let you swing a wider arc but the cost is arm sorness.