False Readings

rgn87

Hey I am pretty new to metal detecting and have a lot of questions but no one to ask. My buddy and I have done it probably 16-17 times in the past two months and we love it. Yesterday we were in a field behind my house and got a reading on both medium and deep depth. We dug down and inch and continued to get the readings. Then we went down another inch and got nothing. We skimmed over all the dirt we dug up and nary a sound. We ran over the hole and dirt with our pinpointer and nothing. Then we filled the hole, and for a laugh scanned over it again. Lo and behold the hole beeped. We pulled our plug back out and it beeped again, but we couldn't find anything. We don't want to dig an unnecessarily deep hole, but we are trying to find treasure. Are we getting false readings? If so what can cause the false reading? It happened twice yesterday and other times before that. Any suggestion would be appreciated, just don't be a jerk about it.

What type of machine are you using? That would help a great deal. Though I will tell you that it is not uncommon to pick up a very small piece of metal that then gets "lost" after it is moved.

I once spent 10 minutes looking for a signal that ended up being a half of a brad.

Sometimes electromagnetic interference can cause falsing, things like wires overhead or buried electrical or even phone or cable lines I hear can cause falsing. Or could be soil conditions (iron content and other factors). I know I've scratched my head over stuff like this too.

Another thing that can cause this is a halo from a piece of iron. The iron is gone now, but leaves it's halo & when you dig to find it, it disrupts the halo. With no halo now, there is no signal. Hope you find this helpful :yes:.