Makro Racer 2 ID question

mrserv0n

I am new to metal detecting, I have a macro racer 2. I tried it today around my house and found a lot of nails and metal pieces, a small pipe, a 1972 quarter, and an interesting Silver Saint Anthony Holy Charm. Guess its worth $4.75 lol. Was a blast.

Onto the question...

I was getting 40-70 ID readings and would dig and find a small nail maybe 4-8 inches. But once on the surface it would Scan 14-16 consistently. Which I would not have dug.

So it seems all the trash reads decent numbers underground but when brought to the surface , reads accurately as trash.

Anyway to tighten the ID readings on trash? The quarter was obvious dig. But the Silver Charm was a 50 -70, which was the same as a nail. Seems trash should read lower. But I don't know much , just running in on stock settings with a bit of experimentation.

I am new to metal detecting, I have a macro racer 2. I tried it today around my house and found a lot of nails and metal pieces, a small pipe, a 1972 quarter, and an interesting Silver Saint Anthony Holy Charm. Guess its worth $4.75 lol. Was a blast.

Onto the question...

I was getting 40-70 ID readings and would dig and find a small nail maybe 4-8 inches. But once on the surface it would Scan 14-16 consistently. Which I would not have dug.

So it seems all the trash reads decent numbers underground but when brought to the surface , reads accurately as trash.

Anyway to tighten the ID readings on trash? The quarter was obvious dig. But the Silver Charm was a 50 -70, which was the same as a nail. Seems trash should read lower. But I don't know much , just running in on stock settings with a bit of experimentation.

Well I have a Racer 2.

I will try to help you and shed so e light on a few things about the detector.

While using 3 tone,,,operator likely to be able to run max sens at 99,, and detector will be stable.

In 2 tone,,once you approach 90.., any higher sens detector may or may not be stable depending on EMI.