Looking for new detector suggs for inland AND salt water beaches

woodwarh

I am a Newbie looking at my first (multi-environment) detector purchase. I have been researching this, on the Internet for about six hours, now.

My requirements and preferences:

1. Detecting environment
a. A decomissioned army base
b. Saltwater beaches, from the sand dunes to wading in up to 1-2 ft of saltwater, I do not need something that works totally submersed.

2. Purchase price, I'd prefer close to $500 or less, if necessary will go higher up to $1000 absolute max.

3. I want a detector that has some sort of graphical display with a discrimination mode to try to guess at the size and/or type of metal and/or depth

4. Newbie friendly

Since I want some sort of discrimination, that rules out Pulse Induction (PI) models.

My best guess so far is the Garrett GTP 1350
It has Discrimination modes with Visual Target ID, a Salt Elimination mode and I can purchase it for about $600.

Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Harold

You need..

something that is chest mountable. One slip while in even ankle deep salt water and that Garrett would be history! If you spend much time wading it is bound to happen. The Fisher CZ's and Minelab Sovereign are your best bets. They both work well on land and can also handle the conductive properties of salt water without falsing. Single frequency machines despite having a salt mode will not operate smoothly in the water or even on the damp sand. Also if you are in So Cal, be advised the beaches there are some of the worst around for giving detectors a hard time. My advice check locally to see what works best.

Tom

If you want to stay close to $500 then I agree with Sphelt and go with the Tereso Tiger Shark.