Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Sunspot Scoops
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Metal Detecting > General Hobby Discussion

Old 10-16-2018, 11:32 AM

Default Need some advice on units

So im pretty new to this..i was at my dads house and he has a detector that he sent my kids outside with.. they needed help digging something up and needless to say i was hooked after lol

But im looking for GOOD budget units..like 300 or less to start out with..thanks!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Old 10-16-2018, 12:03 PM
Elite Member

Some good starting machines are the ACE 250, Tesoro Compadre (but better hurry, they may be going out of business), and Fisher 5.
A friend of mine found his first Seated silver dime with a Bounty Hunter, meaning that finding good stuff has as much to do with location and determination as it does with the type and quality of machine you get.

XP Deus**http://thedirtisgoodtome.com/

Old 10-16-2018, 03:07 PM
Elite Member

Originally Posted by pulltabMiner View post
Some good starting machines are the ACE 250, Tesoro Compadre (but better hurry, they may be going out of business), and Fisher 5.
A friend of mine found his first Seated silver dime with a Bounty Hunter, meaning that finding good stuff has as much to do with location and determination as it does with the type and quality of machine you get.
What's a Fisher 5?

Old 10-16-2018, 04:08 PM
Elite Member

Find a used Garrett AT Pro or Minelab 705, all the machine you will need for a LONG time, beginner or expert.

Old 10-16-2018, 05:49 PM
Elite Member

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by ollievon View post
Find a used Garrett AT Pro or Minelab 705, all the machine you will need for a LONG time, beginner or expert.
We have a winner,,100% accurate

Old 10-16-2018, 06:47 PM
Elite Member

Originally Posted by ollievon View post
True Story
The prices on used detectors have really dropped. Great time for someone new to the hobby to buy one or for a backup.