Local TH'er makes newspaper!

marky777

Great story!

Mark.

The Press-Enterprise

RIVERSIDE - Army Spc. Brett Hurt gave up finding his military insignia ring after losing it on an Orange County beach last summer.

ring15a_400.jpg

When he received a call almost eight months later saying the ring was found, he thought there was a mistake.

"I didn't think they had the right guy," said Hurt, who is stationed at Fort Irwin near Barstow. "It's been so long that I didn't think about it anymore. I just wrote it off."

Riverside resident Bob Bowes was combing Newport Beach with a new metal detector in September, about three months after Hurt's visit to the beach, when he found a silver ring under the sand.

"I found it about 3 o'clock in the morning. It was several hours later before I got a good look at it," Bowes said. "The more I studied it, the more interested I was in finding out who it belonged to."

Hurt said he was with a group of friends at the beach early in the summer. He removed his ring and wrapped it with his clothing, which he said he had folded neatly before heading into the ocean to swim. Late that night, Hurt and his friends headed back to the base. It wasn't until the next day that he realized his ring was gone.

"I was so mad," Hurt said. "I tore apart my buddy's girlfriend's van looking for it. I didn't think I lost it on the beach."

The ring cost Hurt $500, but it wasn't the price that made it a valued piece of jewelry, he said.

"I just got back from my deployment, and it really meant something," Hurt said.

Hurt, 22, of Huddleston, Va., was sent to Iraq in January 2005. He returned home Christmas Eve of the same year. His unit was stationed in Karbala, Fallujah and Camp Kaljun about 20 miles south of Baghdad, he said.