Noob here. First post!

NM_Brooktrout

Greetings!

I want to take the plunge and get a detector. I prowl about northern NM and southern Colorado, and there are tons of abandoned mining sites and camps that I think would be fun to search for old tools and perhaps coins.

I've got my eye on a used detector now. I looked over the "best detectors for noobs" thread and found that it didn't really narrow the field for me.

The used detector that I am considering is a White's Rainbow Spectrum XLT, which reviews well. No accessories with it, other than a soft case for $300 which seems just a tad high.

I see that I can pick up F22 for much less new, or possibly a Garrett Ace. I simply have no idea. My budget threshold is $500 for all my gear.

I have been reading through how to check out used detectors. I lean towards new, as I like the idea of having a warranty. However that XLT seems to be reviewing very well.

Any thoughts?

Hey Welcome! Sorry I do not know anything about the XLT, but somebody should be along shortly that does...I do think that high Alpine Brook Trout are about the prettiest fish in the Continental US! We used to ride our Mtn Bikes up into the Black Hills and fish for Brookies in the beaver ponds with ultralights and flyrods...What a beautiful and mesmerizing fish!

The F22, the Tek Patriot, and the Atpro are some great rigs...not only for a beginner, but something you can grow into and will deliver a positive ROI for years....

Even for long time hunters, its important to watch a lot of youtube vids concerning the purchase of any new rig..listen to the sounds and see which one sounds 'comfortable' to you, makes the most sense to YOU!..All our brains process certain signals differently..we all have certain amounts of audio capabilities and degradation, this is an Audio Primary Sport above all. The Financials are a secondary consideration..