vintage metal detector question

veggieslinger

hello all im brand new to this forum, but not to metal detecting. I have been detecting for about 4 years now, and love it. I have recently taken a liking to some of the vintage detectors out there, and plan on starting a collection. I just picked up a heathkit deluxe gd348 from a thriftshop. it works great, but can not for the life of me figure out how to replace the batteries. I joined this forum because there was a brief discussion a few years back about this detector, but not about how to replace the batteries. I have pmed the person who had it, but no response yet. if anybody can help me with this issue that would be awesome:)

I'm pretty sure the gd348 had a radioactive core. If the isotope has passed it's half-life point it won't have enough juice left to be able to power the machine. A few years ago the NRC put that particular isotope on some, "Do not sell to Detectorists" list so it became impossible to find as any older samples have also passed their half-life point and are useless for power generation. I heard a tale somewhere that if you get enough smoke alarms and scrape all the radioactive bits out of them into the little lead box with all the wires coming off it, it might be enough to power the gd348 for another couple of years, but I think it's just poppykosh. Hang it on a wall and call it Art!

wow I never would of thought that's how it got its power. it seems to still work pretty good though. I think it would be cool to host a vintage equipment hunt with some of my detecting buddies

Welcome from South Carolina !!!!

Sometimes you can find a PDF version of a manual online, but all I could find was a place that sells vintage manuals, I tried to search for battery compartment info too.

I did read a page that said "The GD-348 weighs about 3-1/2 pounds. Uses NEDA #1602 9-volt battery provides 50 hours of operation."

Here is the place that sells vintage manuals -