im a noob

N

northwestphil

Hi,

Thought I would introduce myself and basically admit that I am a noob and no nothing about metal detecting at all. Like most noobs, I have been facnotated with metal detecting since i was a kid but always would look at the price tag and see three small numbers on there and would just sigh and move on down the isle.

Anyway, I got a wild hair and purchased a garrett metal detector that is underwater as well as land. I popped some popcorn and watched the 30 minute video that came with the detector as I tried to figure out how to put it together.

an eager noob, I quickly went out and started in my grandfathers yard. i soon learned that this is is hard work. The detector made noises high and low all of the time. I could not tell what was metal or not. i tried to turn it down and it still produced high and low tones EVERYWHERE.

very confusing.

I watched the video again. maybe there is just nails everywhere but i got all beeps, no "quite" time like I saw on the video. on the vid, there was a low murmur everywhere and then all of a sudden a beep. In my world, its all beeps. On the video people were finding things on a low beep, and on a high beep. How can you tell which beep?

Phil
noob

Welcome to the forum.

I'm sure someone here will be able to help you. It would help if you told us which model you have and which part of the country you are in. I'm guessing you either have a PI model, or you need to ground balance the thing. Of course, there could be lots of metal in grandpa's yard. Have you dug any of the beeps?

If it came with a manual, read it. I'm sure the video makes it look easy, but if they made them look real, everyone would send their machines back as soon as they watched those videos.

I'd try searching a tot-lot near you. Or a friend's yard.

Good Luck.