Any tips or help for MD in the Mountains of Colorado please

shaggnastie

Forum Supporter
Need some tips/advice on mountain MD

Ok folks me and the wife will be going to Colorado(between Silverton & Ouray) in 3 weeks. I am new to the hobby and have been reading and reading as much as I can. Anyone know of certain BOOKS/Mags that might have specific info on mountain detecting? I bought a Garrett AT Pro and am still learning it. I am using Standard Mode and will be trying to keep it simple to try to have some success. I bought the AT Pro be able to Ground Balance in the High mineral soil in that area(as well as the beach in a couple of months).

So what are some things that I need to try, know, be aware of etc. Do I need to look at the color of the ground/dirt? Maybe the color of the water/streams? Do I need to look for certain landmarks like waterfalls, old trees,rock formations, walls in the middle of nowhere etc etc? Anyone know or have any idea?

I am going to md around the cabin as it is an Old ghost town as is. The owner of the cabin(which is on a mining claim that he has bought) has three different mining claims that I am asking for permission to MD on.

One thing that I need some advice on is ----- can I ? or How can I Detect some of the flowing stream there. With the AT Pro being waterproof I would like to try. I have a Jeep and will be pretty far back in the back country so I was thinking that that might be a GREAT chance.

Thanks in advance for any and all info/advice pertaining to the trip or machine or me or rules or just whatever :)

you guys and gals have a great forum .. love it

thanks, Bobby