Second and Third time out with my MXT 1899 penny!

orange ss crush

Well I'm getting better at this - I am running into allot of trash but switched to relic mode as PhilB suggested and man can I weed out the trash! I still have not mastered nickles yet. I got my first one today!!! I have attached a pic and I was shooting along some railroad tracks in Staunton,IL on the north side of Highway 70 yesterday as a quick hunt and I freaked :shock: when I came across a wheatie and an older penny between the railroad ties on the railroad tracks! I think its rare but I will need a opinion on it. I would think 1899 is no big deal but I'm not an expert by any means. I kept thinking St. Louis World's fair 1904 and it's even before that! I seen that if you put it in a potatoe overnight it takes the gunk off and it really worked. ;) Enjoy !!!

Attachments

• IMG_1655.jpg
    IMG_1655.jpg
    49.4 KB · Views: 482
  • IMG_1662.jpg
    IMG_1662.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 463
  • IMG_1663.jpg
    IMG_1663.jpg
    38.4 KB · Views: 462
  • IMG_1664.jpg
    IMG_1664.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 468
  • IMG_1665.jpg
    IMG_1665.jpg
    32.3 KB · Views: 488
Very nice finds Crush! Looks like you already have a knack for researching and sniffing out the good stuff! I look forward to our hunt tomorrow. HH!

Congrats! Looks like you are catching on really fast. Those are some super nice finds, especially for only 3 times out! Good luck to you guys tomorrow. :cool: