Opinion on grade $2.5 gold coin

Hello, I'm pretty new to coin collecting, and even newer to grading. Can someone give me a ballpark opinion on this coin? I bought it from one of those "unsearched roll" listings on Ebay. It's one of the prettiest and most detailed coins I have seen in person.

Thanks in advance!

Ltr2JDP.jpg

0ti7naX.jpg

Thanks for the opinions. I don't have any intention of letting it go for a while.

It's so nice to look at!

Hello, I'm pretty new to coin collecting, and even newer to grading. Can someone give me a ballpark opinion on this coin? I bought it from one of those "unsearched roll" listings on Ebay. It's one of the prettiest and most detailed coins I have seen in person.

did you really get this off a unsearched roll on Ebay? That is crazy...I just figured they were all scams..guess not. Though a friend at work did get a love token (on a Indian head penny) looks amazing.

looks like hairlines in the first pic, cleaned coin. $250 is not unreasonable.

Agreed but I wouldn't pay more than $200 for it assuming it's authentic. There's too many fakes of this series out there. I would check it closely for depressions and/or tooling marks. Impossible to see that from your pics.

did you really get this off a unsearched roll on Ebay? That is crazy...I just figured they were all scams..guess not. Though a friend at work did get a love token (on a Indian head penny) looks amazing.

Well, this was showing as the end coin in the roll. I've purchased 3 different rolls from the same seller. One end coin was a half dime, one was this coin, and another was a wheat penny. Of course the prices varied depending on the end/showing coin.

To their credit, each of the rolls had some AU wheats, a few silver dimes (mercs, some in great shape) here and there, and a few IH pennies. It's kind of a !!!! shoot, but fun to think that it's possible that they actually weren't picked through. I got a flying eagle cent from one of the rolls too.