First water hunts with my Nox800

Jason in Enid

Elite Member
OK, I feel a bit remiss... I have neglected to post about my hunts from the last 2 weeks! :no: Sometimes I get so caught up in posting it to social media I forget about posting it to the "detecting media" :lol:

Anyway....
So, I finally got my Equinox800 out to my local lake beach for a test spin.

-background-
I have been hunting this beach for 18 years. It was a secret garden of silver when I started. 5+ sterlings and handfulls of coins every hunt. over the years, finds dropped (as I hunted them out!). I never found gold until a severe drought lowered the lake, exposing the swimming area, then gold and more silver emerged, but eventually it got low on finds again. Now the lake has re-filled. Now I have a new detector to try to find some some tiny missed gold.

Last week-
I think there must be someone else hunting my beach because the dry sand was D E A D. A couple fresh drop coins and couple pieces of trash. Reluctantly I headed into the water, because I hadnt planned on it. I dont have waterproof phones yet. I decided it was worth the minimal risk in a few inches, maybe knee deep. It was night and day! I immediately began getting hits. Pulltab, pulltab, pulltab,
lake trash1.jpg

then coins... green and black crusty coins that you couldn't see anything of the actual target, just corroded sand cookies. Then rings (and more tabs). Very first ring was a 10K gold with a tiny stone chip in the center. Then black and crusty silver rings and some very crusty junkers.
lake coinsrings1.jpg
goldring.jpg