Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Coiltek electronics
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Everything About Finds > What's the Value?

Old 01-10-2018, 11:59 PM

Default What to do with common silver coins?

I'm a newbie here, and I've been hitting the parks and local tot lots pretty hard lately. I've found some silver, mostly clad, and a tone of pull tabs naturally.

All of this hunting has got me thinking about how to get the most out of this hobby, so I have been looking more closely at the dates of my pocket change, researching Key dated coins, double dies, etc. I even bought a small magnifying glass to check these. I figure if I happened to have some clad with any of these traits I would research them and try and sell it.

But my next thought was about silver coins, I wondered what most people do with their silver coins. I figure the older silver would be easy to find a buyer for, but what about newer silver?
what do you do with your silver nickels, dimes and quarters?

Old 01-11-2018, 03:56 AM
Elite Member

I keep mine in a screw organiser box, but other people use coin tubes. Here's a link for some:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/25-Duraclea...cAAOSwyWZZXxmH

Detectors: CTX 3030, X-Terra70, Pro-Find 25
2018 totals: $1017.54AUD (360x$2, 199x$1, 54x50c, 161x20c, 210x10c, 255x5c, 159x2c, 241x1c) and 86 foreign, collectable or older Australian/English (pre-decimal) coins.
"Swing till your ears ring!"

Old 01-11-2018, 04:11 AM
Supporter

Hoard, hoard, hoard those silver coins. Why on earth would you sell? Never could do that myself. It was hard enough to find em to begin with! Just pass them on down to your kin when you're old and grey, that's what I say.

My neighbor called the cops for me playing LED ZEPPELIN too loud...

They arrested him

Old 01-11-2018, 07:32 AM
Elite Member