Newbie Question - Nox 800

OCBeepDigger

Forum Supporter
Self admitted complete newbie here. New to the hobby and new to my Nox 800. I have about 20+ hours or so in between my yard and the local park & school. Finding lots of clad, bottle caps, junk jewelry and misc "stuff". My question is... when I'm at a school playground (tot lot) how close can I go to metal swing stanchions , playground ladders, play equipment, etc? It seems I'm consistently getting a signal even if I'm about a foot (12") away. I was under the belief that a metal detector could only detect something that was directly beneath the coil and not necessarily something simply in relatively close proximity ...am I misinformed? Hope that question makes sense...

You can sorta get closer if you swing parallel to them, not towards them. Also, lowering sensitivity can help get closer. Smaller 6” coil helps too. However, a big metal object is always going to interrupt the electrical field being generated by the coil regardless because the field isn’t exactly linear. Experiment with different sweep patterns and sensitivity settings. There are often good targets near posts and chain link fences that reward the clever.

JP

You can sorta get closer if you swing parallel to them, not towards them. Also, lowering sensitivity can help get closer. Smaller 6” coil helps too. However, a big metal object is always going to interrupt the electrical field being generated by the coil regardless because the field isn’t exactly linear. Experiment with different sweep patterns and sensitivity settings. There are often good targets near posts and chain link fences that reward the clever.

JP

Thank you very much for the concise answer and furthering my education... that totally makes sense. Glad to know I wasn't just crazy! :-)

I was under the belief that a metal detector could only detect something that was directly beneath the coil and not necessarily something simply in relatively close proximity ...am I misinformed?