• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Noob W/o A Detector

Porkrind

Hey all!

I’m brand new to this but I’ve been adventurous my entire life. My son who is 11 is also very adventurous and loves being outdoors. More recently he’s been asking me if I could buy him a detector so I did a bit of looking and picked him up a Bounty Hunter LRP on what I think was a fair price ($220). My question is this I have the choice for myself between buying a new Fisher F19 and a very lightly used Fisher F75 LTD camo with an extra 5” sniper coil that has its own extension bar. Also the F75 comes with a set of Garret headphones and all for the same of the F19. With that being said I live in central Oklahoma and I lack a lot of knowledge regarding our soil composition. Right now if I had to guess my son and I would mostly be scanning around our lakes edges, campsites, parks, etc... so what’s the better choice out of the two or am I missing something like a White’s MX7 by not even looking at it?

The F75 LTD is an awesome all-around machine, the F19 is often advertised as a "gold machine", with its higher frequency. Warranties usually DO NOT transfer with a used machine, but if you can get the F75 with the extras you state, at the price of a new F19...well, I would go for that (but that's me).

Fisher Labs is owned by First Texas Products - who also own Teknetics and Bounty Hunter.
Check out the Teknetics line, and the differences in price:
T2 same as F75 (base model, not "SE" or "LTD")
G2 same as F19
"Patriot" same as F70
"Omega" very similar to the F5

Currently, I am considering the Teknetics Patriot, which is identical to the Fisher F70. The F75 may have an edge in performance over the 70, but there are those swear by the F70 as being better.