• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

beach wind direction

My guess would be going straight out from land to sea, helps blow the tide out a bit further than predicted and also helps flatten any waves a bit...
I look for winds like this and hunt different spots accordingly if it will flatten out otherwise tough spots.
windfinder.com is a good site for this

Although I think offshore winds are nice to flatten and smooth waves they are not any good unless you just want fresh drops. Onshore winds that come at an angle are much better at creating cuts and scallops. Winds more directly from the east will create more rip currents which means some deeper channels. That's my observation but I'm not an expert.

My guess would be going straight out from land to sea,....

Huh ? How do you figure ? I think Felix is correct :

... Onshore winds that come at an angle are much better at creating cuts and scallops. ....

Yes: We want the waves to be driven further on-shore, to preferably break right up at the dune line. (So that means combined with swells and high tide day/times). When that happens, then there's erosion.

Offshore winds are great for the dry sand. Don't even need a detector. Blows the sand exposing coins and jewelry to pickup off the surface.

Remember the coast does not run due north and south. Below palm beach the direction is different than above palm beach.

Look at a map of the beach you want then figure out the wind you need. There are little jogs in the beach that erode or cut sand before others. Usually need two days or more. High surf and moons phase helps to.

Stay safe, learn how to recognize and survive a rip current.

Good luck

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk