Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Colonial Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Detectors and Gear > Make It or Fix It Yourself

Reply
  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-23-2009, 10:10 PM
Lowjiber's Avatar
Lowjiber Lowjiber is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 5,955
Default

The fuse is a good idea.

__________________
John Ace 250, Prizim III, F2, MXT, Vision, Surfmaster Pro, DP Wader

"There remains a finite number of straws that can be placed on a camel's back."

Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 01-25-2009, 11:02 AM
rover's Avatar
rover rover is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 379
Default

I like the phone charger because it takes up so little space. Other than the cleaning tank, it's a little larger than 3".

I like the fuse idea.
With a 5v charger, what size fews would I use?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 01-25-2009, 12:12 PM
kendallkirk's Avatar
kendallkirk kendallkirk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pendleton, SC
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by rover View post
With a 5v charger, what size fews would I use?
It's the amperage that matters for a fuse. How many amps, A (or milliamps, mA) is the charger rated for at 5V? Example: If it's 500mA, then you need a 0.5A fuse (or smaller). I think that a 12V DC (automotive type) fuse should do fine, just make sure that the amperage rating is correct. If anyone knows otherwise (about using a 12 VDC fuse for a 5 VDC circuit, please correct me.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 01-25-2009, 12:14 PM
kendallkirk's Avatar
kendallkirk kendallkirk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pendleton, SC
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by MyrtleBeachGuy View post
kendallkirk , i see your from SC , why not join us on a hunt ?
I'd like to do that...but I'm on the opposite side of the state from you. I live between Anderson and Clemson in the upstate. If I'm going to be in your neighborhood, I'll let you know, do the same if you come up this way. Looks like you have some more exciting places to hunt pinned down than I do, but I'm working on it. Thanks for the invite.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 05-14-2009, 08:18 PM
13rannon's Avatar
13rannon 13rannon is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 755
Default

Cool projects you guys, but becareful with that toxic stuff.

Stay Safe.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 11-09-2009, 11:40 PM
dfxing virginia's Avatar
dfxing virginia dfxing virginia is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in cali now near davis and saccramento area looking for people to go with.
Posts: 592
Default electrolisis question

i have a machine that my grampa gave to my dad before he died and then rolled down to me and i use it. but when i do the metal piece that is supposed to go in the water is slowly breaking and coming apart is my solution too strong or am i doing something wrong? thought i would ask you guys if your building your own im sure you know alot about it. i would be greatfull for any help you may have.

__________________
You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 11-09-2009, 11:59 PM
30U Plymouth's Avatar
30U Plymouth 30U Plymouth is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poplar Bluff, MO
Posts: 1,061
Default

Originally Posted by dfxing virginia View post
i have a machine that my grampa gave to my dad before he died and then rolled down to me and i use it. but when i do the metal piece that is supposed to go in the water is slowly breaking and coming apart is my solution too strong or am i doing something wrong? thought i would ask you guys if your building your own im sure you know alot about it. i would be greatfull for any help you may have.
Make sure your wires are hooked up correctly.....it does make a different.

If the metal piece (not part being cleaned) is doing the bubbleing then the wires will need to be switched.

PS: The metal piece will have to be replaced often, because it will corrode badly.

__________________
GARRETT 1350, DFX, V3i, Pro-pointers

Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:18 PM
dfxing virginia's Avatar
dfxing virginia dfxing virginia is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in cali now near davis and saccramento area looking for people to go with.
Posts: 592
Default

Originally Posted by 30U Plymouth View post
Make sure your wires are hooked up correctly.....it does make a different.

If the metal piece (not part being cleaned) is doing the bubbleing then the wires will need to be switched.

PS: The metal piece will have to be replaced often, because it will corrode badly.
hey thanks for the input. it has ground and pos on the machine and the cabels so i know its hooked up right. but sounds like this is what is supposed to happen from what you say about it needing to be replaced often is that right?

__________________
You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 05-06-2010, 10:30 PM
Willieboy's Avatar
Willieboy Willieboy is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 20 miles south of St. Louis
Posts: 106
Default

Great article! I'm figuring how to modify it for my use.

Thanks Bill

__________________
Long time Picker, short time Detector. White's XLT-E, Garrett Ace 250, Pro-pointer, Tiller Mattock, Lots of Sweat

Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 05-10-2010, 11:42 AM
Landshark Landshark is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 238
Default Electrolysis

It is a long, but interesting process. Every few years I go to St. Augustine Florida on vacation. At the Fountain of Youth there is a cannonball on display going through this process. I always stop by and check on the process, and see how my cannon ball is doing.

I was in Charleston when they raised the Submarine thee USS Hunley.

I was able to get a tour of the sub, and was next to the tanks where the process was going on.

The spar portion was at my feet, and I was so tempted to stick my hand in the water and touch history, but because of the electrical current, I decided not to take a chance and become part of history.

Landshark
Reply With Quote


  #31  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:29 PM
zaxfire69's Avatar
zaxfire69 zaxfire69 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Natchez, MS
Posts: 4
Default

Here is a picture of my setup. Works nicely.
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 10-08-2010, 04:38 PM
TheCoilist's Avatar
TheCoilist TheCoilist is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gulf Coast, TX
Posts: 2,245
Default

wow this is something i need to get into for sure. i find a lot of railroad iron relics and such in my area and would love to have them cleaned up. Great read!!

__________________
AT Pro, Excal II 800

Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 06-11-2011, 07:40 PM
jim42's Avatar
jim42 jim42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 264
Default Electrolysis

best setup I have seen with great tech. infor
Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 08-15-2011, 09:07 AM
ec121connie's Avatar
ec121connie ec121connie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 46
Default

Originally Posted by zaxfire69 View post
Here is a picture of my setup. Works nicely.
Is that a regular automotive battery charger as the power supply? I have a 12 amp charger somewhere in my pile. It would be great if it would work.

Thanks kendallkirk and zaxfire69 for the photos and info.
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 08-15-2011, 11:41 AM
TheCoilist's Avatar
TheCoilist TheCoilist is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gulf Coast, TX
Posts: 2,245
Default

Originally Posted by ec121connie View post
Is that a regular automotive battery charger as the power supply? I have a 12 amp charger somewhere in my pile. It would be great if it would work.

Thanks kendallkirk and zaxfire69 for the photos and info.
I use a 6v battery charger for motorcycles but a 12v will work as well. One of these days when I can get back out and find metal (too hot and dry) I will get pics of my setup. It works great. As far as amperage is concerned, a 12 amp should be just fine. If I am not mistaken, it's the voltage that is what makes the difference.

__________________
AT Pro, Excal II 800

Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 11-09-2011, 04:58 AM
Christoph1945 Christoph1945 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 12
Default

A superb set of instructions my friend. Some good ideas in the follow up thread. I will be building a similar setup for cleaning my iron finds.

Will this system help to remove concretions from beach finds? Or is there an other method that I should be looking for? I have a number of small iron finds that are completely encased in concretions.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 12-08-2012, 11:09 AM
rseasy1's Avatar
rseasy1 rseasy1 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cottage hills Illinois
Posts: 631
Default Wire diagram

Could you post a wire diagram of your set up,I have some horse shoes and other items I want to clean and would like to have a setup.
Are you runing the positive leads to the can pieces on both side then the negative leads to the piece to be cleaned?

__________________
X-Terra 705,AT Pro, oldest coin .1819 1/2 reale
Dirt fishin USA one swing at a time DOIN THE DD WIGGLE, "On with the hunt"

Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 09-22-2013, 11:03 PM
rewjr1961's Avatar
rewjr1961 rewjr1961 is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lecompton, KS
Posts: 145
Default

Great post finding lots of iron objects in the yard wanted to clean them but wasn't sure on how to do it. Thank you for your post

__________________
rewjr1961-NEK (Bob Welch)
Minelab E-Trac, Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Propointer,Lesche Digger, Sampson shovel

Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 04-06-2014, 10:25 AM
chief-w's Avatar
chief-w chief-w is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Posts: 30
Default

Originally Posted by kendallkirk View post
It's the amperage that matters for a fuse. How many amps, A (or milliamps, mA) is the charger rated for at 5V? Example: If it's 500mA, then you need a 0.5A fuse (or smaller). I think that a 12V DC (automotive type) fuse should do fine, just make sure that the amperage rating is correct. If anyone knows otherwise (about using a 12 VDC fuse for a 5 VDC circuit, please correct me.
You are correct. The fuse voltage rating is the maximum voltage it should be used for. Anything less than 12 volts will be ok. The voltage ratings are there to ensure that the voltage won't jump the gap of the open fuse.

__________________
2014 Clad: $23.60, 2 silver, 1 wheatie and,
I lost count at 187,427 pull tabs....

Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 07-17-2014, 02:01 PM
shedigz's Avatar
shedigz shedigz is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Southwestern PA
Posts: 705
Default

Is there anything wrong with using paper clips instead of alligator clips?

__________________
Minelab X- Terra 705. X-pointer.

Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First objects out of my electrolysis setup (update 10/22 - new items) ATDigger Cleaning Your Finds 17 10-22-2013 06:00 PM
New electrolysis setup N3HCP Cleaning Your Finds 16 08-22-2013 12:58 PM
Electrolysis questions, my setup, and the results TCosbyJr Cleaning Your Finds 14 01-23-2013 08:18 PM
electrolysis setup questions TheCoilist Cleaning Your Finds 37 12-26-2011 01:07 PM
What do you use beside electrolysis ? i dont know how to do electrolysis Corp900 Cleaning Your Finds 3 04-26-2011 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.