Southwest PA

Did you have any luck at Mingo Creek? I work in Canonsburg and that Park doesn't seem too far from there.

Hi mdhewlett,
I have found 3 large Cents there, 2 of them drapped bust (1797 and an unreadible date) and 1 was a classic head (1808). I have also found a bunch of wheat pennies and relics like crotal bells and stuff, but still no silver.

There are plenty of old foundations and spring houses in the park and I always jump around spot to spot instead of concentrating my efforts into one spot because I am trying to find a hotspot. I'm going to start concentrating on them one by one from now on. If you ever want to go, let me know, if I'm free I'll meet you out there.

That sounds like a pretty good area - I also have an Explorer, but I'm still learning. PM me next time you're headed out and I'll see if I can get a kitchen pass.

Mike

Mingo is not a far hike for me. I went today over to South Park to practice at the concert stage. I was getting beeps every so often, but found nothing, so I took out my practice quarter and college class ring--pretty heavy white gold. I was getting beeps all the time on the quarter but almost no recognition of the heavy gold ring. All I got today were heavy arms and frustration. The manual that came with my Famous Trails MD9300 is terrible and the one online actually contradicts the one that came with the detector, and has information apparently not for the 9300--a "hole for adjustment of ground balance" that does not exist on my machine. Frankly, I'm inclined to toss the thing in the closet or sell it at a garage sale. I'm checking Amazon for some kind of generic instruction bible, but so far, it ain't workin'. I'm open to any ideas you might have.