First decent find

Poppacap

Im fairly new to detecting, bought my Gamma a few months ago and have primarily just practiced in my own yard getting to know the machine, finding plenty of bottle caps, pull tabs and some clad. Over the last week I have been venturing into the woods and walking trails adjacent to my hood, finding mostly shot gun shells, bullet brass and bullets themselves. The area must have been a prime hunting spot before the neighborhood was developed in the mid 60s. However today in those same woods I found my first coin.. About 6" deep in very hard packed soil I dug the high pitched tone and to my delight in the bottom of the hole was a 1892 V nickel in decent shape. Pretty cruddy by in good enough shape to see the date with minor rubbing. So im pretty stocked for my first 'real' find. In the process of cleaning it up. Will post pics when I get it to a point that is presentable.. Thanks for reading.

Congrats! Well, before taking a break, I detected for 5 years, still waiting on a V and still haven't dug the 1st buffalo. :?: :lol:

Good work Pop!

Deep nickel signals can often warrant the question to dig. Shot lead and pull tabs can tend to come up in this Nickel and small flat button range.

If there is light wear it may have been dropped early in life. Be sure to try and find any place that kids might have used for a swimming hole. Those places are seldom hunted if they are deeper in the woods. Many of us find these places and have come up with some fun finds. Before air conditioning, these small secluded ponds often had a lot of people using them to cool off.

Keep us posted on the excitement!

update