New in NE Kansas

thedrane

I'm located north of Topeka just getting into the hobby. I have a white coinmaster 6000 series 2 looking for places to hunt, and I have a lot of questions about laws, especially waterways IE Kansas river. Any help would be great.

Welcome from Dodge City

Kansas has no metal detecting laws. Federals laws apply such as being illegal to hunt state property (state lakes/state parks). Other than that you're pretty free to hunt any public land including the parking strips in front of most houses. When in doubt, get permission.

Never feel you have a disadvantage living in a newer state like Kansas. I have found coins are far back as 137 AD. Spanish Reales and US coins back to the 1830's.

The drane: welcome to FMDF. The 6000 D series II is circa 1981-ish. Great machine for its era. Still ok for casual hunting, although today's machines go deeper, add TID, see through & around iron better (ie.: better amidst masking). But still ok for casual use.

.... Kansas has no metal detecting laws. Federals laws apply such as being illegal to hunt state property (state lakes/state parks).

Kansas state parks and law has no mention of md'ing. Ie.: Silent on the subject. Hence not prohibited. How do you figure that federal laws apply to state land ? Federal laws do no subrogate down to state (nor county nor city). Federal laws would only apply to federal land. Not other forms of land.

The drane: welcome to FMDF. The 6000 D series II is circa 1981-ish. Great machine for its era. Still ok for casual hunting, although today's machines go deeper, add TID, see through & around iron better (ie.: better amidst masking). But still ok for casual use.

Kansas state parks and law has no mention of md'ing. Ie.: Silent on the subject. Hence not prohibited. How do you figure that federal laws apply to state land ? Federal laws do no subrogate down to state (nor county nor city). Federal laws would only apply to federal land. Not other forms of land.