Is This A Cut?

Allagash

I stopped by a local private beach on my way home from work last night for an hour. Luckily it was low tide. This was my third hour detecting ever and I was excited to be out there. I was amazed at how clean this beach was. The detector went off three times. I found a penny, dime, and tiny rusty nail. No pull tabs, bottle caps, or trash of any type. I guess that's the difference between hunting at a private beach surrounded by million dollar homes and hunting a public beach....

I keep reading about "cuts" on the beach. I'm guessing that's what this is? Where the tide water cut part of the beach away to lower the level of the sand thus making it easier to detect deeper. Is that correct? If so, I'm guessing you should work the area below the cut? That's what I did.

Cut.jpg

I'm new at this but that looks like a cut to me. Or, it was a cut. The trough is formed between the cut and newly accreted sand which forms the bar closest to the water. The pool is the low point. Low points are good hunting areas.

I'd hunt this entire beach. Starting in the pool and then working the trough. I'd work the newly accreted sand because the surf acts like a washing machine. That is, what it takes out it brings back in. Finally, i'd work the slope up to dry sand.

Last weekend I was on a beach and most finds were on the slope, 20 to 30 feet up beach from the lowest point.

On the beach I hunt, the areas where I've found to be loaded with
targets whereas the sand around them have few have had the following
characteristics and these for me, are what I call "cuts".

A rise like a cliff, it could be sharp or gradual. The small cliffs have
never produced for me, the larger ones often have too much sand
beneath them. I like average size ones.

The sand beneath that rise is NOT lower than the surrounding sand
but it is consistently FIRMER.

There are two lines of targets, one nearer the bottom of the "cliff"
and the other closer to the water. This never fails.