confused in ohio

hberry

I purchased a Discovery 3300 last Memorial weekend at a local Radio Shack. What little I've learned has been a real challenge.Self taught. I'm looking for advice on upgrading to a better model, something to hit the public beaches and riverbanks with. The Discovery does not do very well in sandy soils. I've found over $800 in coins and a lot of jewelry. The 3300 is a lot of fun but I'm not sure if it's performance . Any advice for this new guy?

Great question. I too have the 3300 and am looking for advice on a salt water beach unit. I guess we need a PI unit......can anyone help out 2 newbies..??

Thanks

You have found over 800 dollars in coins and lots of jewelry???????????? Why would you want to upgrade?????????????????? Good going!

If you have the bucks, the Garrett Infinium is what I'd get. Operates on something like 96 frequencies. But for water, the Whites Beach Hunter ID is a nice one. Go poke around in the water hunters forum. They give good advice.

I was at a beach a couple days ago with my 3300 and it did ok. I turned the sensetivity all the way down and made sure it was ground balanced. I was at a fresh water beach so maybe that is the difference. Sounds like you know how to work your machine with so many coins.

A couple questions 1 Are you wanting to take the detector into the water at the beaches, and 2 Which river(s) are you hunting.