another Cobb ....

dewcon

Quality Control Expert
Me and Gold Digger decided on a road trip so we hit it early. We started out doing some dry sand just because we were all alone out there. After a couple of hours we decided to hit the It was choppy when we started and targets were sparse at best. I think GD got more clad than me... my total was around $2.75. I did get one small 10K gold about .9 grams with CZ. Now the 8 reale cobb is another one of those made into a necklace. It is silver i tested it. Ive looked at it pretty closely it shows wear and doesnt appear to be a repro. Dont know if its worth anything but melt value. but it is another unusual find for the Gulf.

Dew

Attachments

• 002.JPG
    002.JPG
    94.5 KB · Views: 547
Where the pic Dew? If it's like the one I bought ( I can't find one) it's a recast from silver bars from the Achoa using one of the coins for a mold. Mine was $54.00 at the Mel Fisher Museum, if that helps.

Im no expert on anything..... but this doesnt look like a recast CS. Weight was .20 oz silver. Unique find.... hope they keep loosen them, beats finding fillings....:laughing:

Dew

Nice finds

If it wasn't a replica,why would someone soder a neckalace link on it,i would have incased it,im sure Dew if you wanted a better opinion on the reale try treasure.net shipwreck forum,cool find's for sure,Earl

SM.... i had another one and i did ask over there they didnt seem to have the answer of even what it was. They have coins shows occasionally around sometimes there are some real knowledgable people.... until then into the safe it goes i guess.

That looks too small to be a 8 reale

If it were a real...8 reale it should weigh 28 grams or in that area. Here are a few Cobbs...in the photo of the 3 cobbs the one on the far left is a Atocha replica made from Mel's silver..the other 2 are beach found cobbs

Attachments

• 392420_3307048469780_825318993_n.jpg
    392420_3307048469780_825318993_n.jpg
    8.8 KB · Views: 477