Need advice,please help

huffy

Hi everyone,I am fairly new to metal detecting(had a $29 Radio Shack one as a kid).I bought a Whites Classic III new in the box at a good price and want to use it mostly at the beach.I plan to go in the sand and also up to my knee's in the water.I live in the Niagara Penninsula in Canada.Within an hours drive I have 50 miles of beaches to the north of me and 50 miles of beaches to the south of me.

I have the time(retired) to go to the beach everyday in the summer.Any tips or techniques go guys could give me would be great,I know that I should have gotten a water-proof detector but I didn't for 2 reasons.I want to make sure I stick with it and I hate the water,up to my knee's or so is good for me,I live in Costa Rica in the winter now and will probably get a water-proof one for there but Lake Erie and Lake Ontario give my eyes infections every time,even with goggles so never again.

Thanx,any help would be great,Huffy.

Welcome to the forum Huffy... Pray is my best advice taking a land machine into the water... I would never do that.. All you have to do is get a little water in the battieries or control box and you might as well make a lamp out of your detector. Land machines are not going to get the depth you need to get the deep finds... You might find some fresh drops but the deep stuff will be out of your range.

I suggest you stay on land but you could try wet dirt/sand and save up for a waterproof detector.

Hi,thanks for the reply,very new to metal detecting I was wondering how deep would rings and stuff be at the beach ?

Since the beach constantly changes , targets can range from surface to as low as the "clay" layer is. This ususally stops the coins from sinking further.This can be more than 18" in some cases. The beuty of it all is that changing condition of the beach. One day you get skunked the next you get the treasure. Good Luck. :yes: