Doctor visit - good news bad news good news etc.

SkiWhiz

Elite Member
As some of you know as I have posted a few times that I have high cholesterol and had to have 3 stints put in my heart about 3 years ago. I went to my heart doctor yesterday and the good news was my blood pressure was the best it ever was, my good and my bad cholesterol levels were normal but my Lipoprotein (a) levels were still high. My heart doctor has been doctoring for over 20 years and told me my Lipoprotein (a) number was the highest he has ever seen (100) and it should be less than 30. I have been playing guinea pig between my heart doctor and my regular doctor it seems. I was on Lipitor and Niaspan and my legs got so tired that I could hardly walk so my regular doctor told me to quite taking the Niaspan. I am no doctor but feel the Lipitor is slowing ruining me, my legs are so tired all the time, I am tired most of the time, there are times when it feels like my nerves are on the outside of my skin, constant ringing in my ears and every sound is like it is amplified 10 times, my memory has slipped a great deal. Yesterday my heart doctor told me that I should not of been taking off Niaspan as it is about the only treatment for me. Good news is he took me off Lipitor so maybe I will start to feel like I used to, its been so long that I can hardly remember what it is like to feel normal. I am not making this post to cry to anyone or for sympathy just was wondering if any of you have high cholesterol and or high Lipoprotein (a) numbers and if so has anything helped you and have you noticed any side effects. Thanks! Steve.

Just a note to show you where I rate -

In adults, blood lipoprotein (a) levels

* less than 10 mg/dL are considered "acceptable"
* 11-24 mg/dL - "borderline high"
* higher than 25 mg/dL - "very high

My number is 100, very scary considering I already had to have 3 heart stints placed and I was only 48.