Square Nails

maxbet

What do you guys do with them?

I'm pretty green still but already I've dug up at least a hundred old nails, screws and fasteners. It pains me slightly throwing them away because they are old, cool and may have been involved in something interesting.

Ultimately I throw them away after fantasizing about opening a fastener museum.

What do you do?

I haven't found any yet as I am new to this hobby myself. But, have a few places that I haven't looked. I'm planning a hunt in about a week so I can spend a few hours practicing and hopefully finding something.

How many would you like me me to send you? :laughing:

These old Lake Michigan ports are carpeted with them of all sizes from the original docks.

How many would you like me me to send you? :laughing:

These old Lake Michigan ports are carpeted with them of all sizes from the original docks.

:lol: Funny you should say that. My wife is a teacher here in Las Vegas and she collects old items and puts them in a mining museum they have at her school. She teaches at a math and science magnet school and I hope to find some interesting items when I hunt.

I acually have a nice pile of them over the past few years. I keep the ones that are still in good shape but the pieces and rusted up ones that are to far gone I toss into my scrap metal bucket. My wife scratches her head wondering why I keep all that old rusty c-r-a-p (as she puts it) I say because its old and I love the history of the items. I doubt she will ever understand but maybe one day she will get into the hobby also and stop complaining about having all that rusty goodness in the house lol.