Thanks for the add.

Louisianamudbug

Hi, my name is Gene and I live in south La. I don't do much detection but love reading about all the finds here. I have an old Garrett Master Hunter 7 ADS that I pull out now and then. I acquired it from a friend that got tired of it. It's great for finding coins if they aren't too deep but it a heavy machine and tires me quickly. Right now I trying to decide if I want to get a newer lighter machine so I can last longer in the field. I've been reading about the new Apex and it sounds like a good machine but waiting for some reviews.
Gene

Welcome from Winnsboro, South Carolina !!!!

Not personally familiar with the Apex myself, but maybe as more members have a chance to see your post they might have some opinions on it.

:mder:_____:mder: _____:mder:_____:mder:

Welcome, Gene. I moved from the Garrett AT Pro to the Equinox 600 because I couldn't hunt for more than 90 minutes with the AT Pro. But with the Nox I've been out for several hours at a time without issue. I even bought a second one when my first met with an untimely accident. Looking forward to seeing some of what you find in LA.

Thanks everyone for the great welcomes. Sorry it took me so long to get back and thank y'all. I've been very busy working on home projects and keeping one eye out for the hurricanes. We had one go the west of us and one to the east of us, and one disappear right near us. At one time they were all pointed at us.

I don't have much to report about the use of my machine as I've never taken it out for a ride. I've only played with it on my own property. After following this forum and a couple of local ones, I've become more interested in the hobby. I'm 76 years old and have been in this town my whole life and know more about it's history than most local detectors. I have some spots in mind that some might not realize could be some very good spots for older coins. Too bad schools are off limits here. No one allowed on school grounds, PERIOD.