Permission to detect

GOLDENGIRL2013

I'm new at this....I realize that to detect you have to get permission from the land owner...however, what about county property, parks, schools, etc? Can you go on county property and schools(as long as kids aren't in school) and detect? I'm not sure ...should I contact Parks Department in my county?
I live in Brazoria County, Texas....:?:

for parks, if there is no sign saying not to, or anything on your town and county's website about not MDing or digging. just detect it. when you start contacting people you'll be shooting yourself in the foot. if no rules posted about it, hunt 'till asked to leave.

If there is no signs, I definitely wouldn't call anyone. If someone from the parks association yells at you, just say "well I didn't know I wasn't allowed to...." and play it off. There's nothing they can do except tell you to stop if there's no signs. But, if you ask, and they say no...then you're basically screwed.. I would just look for signs and if there is none, detect until you get shooed away.

I'm new at this....I realize that to detect you have to get permission from the land owner...however, what about county property, parks, schools, etc? Can you go on county property and schools(as long as kids aren't in school) and detect? I'm not sure ...should I contact Parks Department in my county?

GrumpySRB lives in your area so he'd be able to answer your questions to the umpteenth degree.

You have a lot of early Texas history in that area. First capitol of Texas, Varner Hogg Plantation, Battle of Velasco where Santa Anna met his Sam Houston, blah, blah, blah; You'll need to be on your toes and know the do's and don'ts.

GrumpSRB is friendly, nice guy and extremely knowledgeable about your area. I grew up in Freeport and in our conversations he's reminded me of places I'd forgotten. Definitely on my list to meet and hunt with once I get a chance to get back to the coast for a few days.