Whites MX5 and MXT user review.

gben

I do not see a lot about these detectors here so I thought I would start a thread on them.

I have a lot of experience with the MX5 and I think it is a great performing detector. It gives very good audio and visual clues as to what is in the ground. If you like going after coins it might be as good a choice as you will find as when it hits a coin or a solid piece of jewelry it gives a distinct audio signal that is unmistakeable. This lets you take your eyes off the number display when you need to without fear of missing too much.

It very accurately identifies what is in the ground. If you get a solid signal that does not change it's number as you sweep left and right or at a different angle sweep, then there is a very high probability that what is on the display is what is in the ground. It is very good at telling the difference between a penny and a dime, and it's reading for a nickel is very consistent. If the number on the display changes when sweeping left or right or when you change direction then you can be very sure that you are looking at a pop tab or bottle cap or some other piece of junk.

With it's stock coil and it's great ability to separate individual targets in a trashy environment, it is a great tool for working areas where a lot of trash have been dumped. It is great at pinpointing location and depth of a target. Many times have I had the target coin come up on the bottom of the first plug of earth I remove.

This detector will not pick up pure gold, but it will pick up any ten, fourteen or eighteen carat etc. gold, so it really has few limitations.

The MX5 will pick up targets very often down to nine or ten inches and even deeper.