Hourly wages back in the day

SkiWhiz

Elite Member
I posted a thread awhile ago telling you that my wife brought home a 1927 Sears and Roebuck catalog. This thing has over 1,000 pages and it looks like there isn't anything they didn't sell back then and the prices of things are unbelievable compared to today. I was wondering what a person would make back then. I was watching something on tv (forgot what now) and they mentioned that back in 1924 a person made 5 cents per hour.

i can remember my grandfather telling us one time about working on a government farm making 10 cent an hour, 10 hours a day, back in the late 30s to somewhere in the mid 40s, he got out of the army in 1939, stationed in pearl harbor,

i can remember my grandfather telling us one time about working on a government farm making 10 cent an hour, 10 hours a day, back in the late 30s to somewhere in the mid 40s, he got out of the army in 1939, stationed in pearl harbor,
I am a dairy farmer (been one all my life) and it feels like we aren't making much more than that now :mad:.

I remember my mom making one dollar a day - she's 86 now. In 1955 I made the minimum wage of 65 cents an hour, I'm
67 now. steve in so az

According to my dad; back during the depression (1930's) he and his uncle drove truck every day. They'd leave Elgin, IL in the early morning, drive to Chicago (a good 40 miles), load the truck with produce, drive to Rockford, IL (about another 100 miles), unload the truck then drive back home to Elgin that evening just to get some sleep before doing it again. They each earned $1 per day doing that and my dad said that was REAL good money back then.